Mount Carmel Academy recognized students for their athletic and academic achievements at the Spring Athletic Awards ceremony on May 10, 2022.

The LHSAA All-Academic Scholar Award is earned by athletes who maintained a 3.5 GPA or higher while participating in varsity sports. These students are Olivia Bagnetto, Virginia Bordelon, Taylor Hunn, Caroline McClure, Emily Smith, Olivia Stant, Victoria Stephens, Rachel Stone, Isabella Strassel and Elizabeth Traylor.


The Outstanding Member Pin is awarded to athletes who contribute to their team's success by their practice efforts, consistent sportsmanship, and unwavering support for their teammates. An outstanding contribution in a particular game, match, or meet may also warrant the award. Outstanding members are Olivia Bagnetto, Corinne Baudier, Olivia BourgeoisNatalie Doiron, Addison Ferreras, Isabella Foster, Sarah Haas, Gabrielle Howard, Caya Mumme, Isabella Tran, Avery Wicker, Grace Williams and Julia Zimmermann.


The Coaches' Award was given to members of the team who set the example, support their teammates, and seldom lack spirit or motivation. Honorees are Caroline Arnold, Bryanna Corcoran, Kaylee Dufrene, Emily Heller, Carley Koch, Sydney Kremer, Katelyn Moser, Nadia Powell, Kadence Robichaux, Bailey Schexnaildre, Hayden Traub, and Georgia Wetzel and Alexis Yuratich.


The Most Valuable Player Award is given to athletes who constantly contribute to the success of the team and inspire teammates to perform at a higher level. Spring MVPs are Emma Curry, Kenzie Degeyter, Taylor Hunn, Claire Murphy, Emily Smith, Olivia Stant, Victoria Stephens and Iris Westmoreland.


The Outstanding Fall Athlete Award is given to a varsity athlete who has displayed outstanding athletic ability while also serving as a model of good sportsmanship and inspiration for her teammates. This year's recipient is Iris Westmoreland.

Elizabeth Traylor received the Christian Cub Award. It is awarded to a senior who has excelled in academics while earning the respect of her opponents by displaying the personal integrity and values of a young Christian woman.

The Carmel Champion Award is presented to an individual who has placed first in a State Championship Meet. Emily Smith became a two-time State Champion with her first-place finish on the uneven bars at the gymnastics state championships.  

Bailey Schexnaildre and Olivia Stant received the Ruth McDonald Award. The award is presented to seniors who have displayed all around athleticism through their participation in multiple sports.  



More News