Counseling Connection

First Quarter Bulletin

SEPTEMBER

Back to School Night
Counselors provided information to 8th grade parents and parents of new upperclassmen.

Initial Meetings
During the week of September 8, Counselors met with their students in groups from each grade level during IS. They introduced/reviewed the counselor’s role in students’ lives while at Mount Carmel, things they are welcome to speak with their counselor about (e.g. spiritual, academic, social, emotional needs), ways students can get in touch with their counselor, important Mount Carmel procedures, and various other topics specific to their grade level. 

OCTOBER

Safe Environment
Safe Environment is a program that aims to educate our students on a variety of important topics pertaining to safety and mental health. In October, Counselors met with their students from each grade level as a group during IS.

These topics included

  • Senior: Campus Safety & Sexual Assault
  • 8th Grade: Bullying
  • Sophomore: Healthy Friendships
  • Freshman: Stress Management
  • Junior: Dating Violence

Testing Day
Wednesday, October 13

  • 8th & 9th Grade--PSAT 8/9
  • 10th & 11th Grade--PSAT/NMSQT
  • 12th Grade
  • Senior Panel & Graduate Orders
  • College Essay Workshop

8th Grade Virtual Parent Meetings
These meetings are mandatory and require that both you and your daughter are in attendance--virtually for you and in-person for your daughter. We will be going over introductory information and discussing your daughter’s adjustment to life at Mount Carmel. Meetings will run from October 21 to November 19 and take place during the school day from 8 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. Our meeting should last approximately 30 to 45 minutes and take place during a non-core class, Independent Study, before or after school. Though not mandatory, meetings for new freshmen are highly encouraged.


Counselor Contact Information
 
Counselor Ext. Email

Amy Bavido

5307

abavido@mcacubs.org

Jennifer Chamberlain

5305

jchamberlain@mcacubs.org

Val Estoque

5309

vestoque@mcacubs.org

Jennifer Glynn

5311

jglynn@mcacubs.org

Sue Hymel

5308

shymel@mcacubs.org

Amanda Pellegrin

5310

apellegrin@mcacubs.org

Scott Reason

5306

sreason@mcacubs.org

Madison Schultz

5312

mschultz@mcacubs.org

Kerri Caruso

College & Scholarship Coordinator

5275

kcaruso@mcacubs.org